25 weeks have passed
And I remember
As it were yesterday-
The sun's rays;
I wore the blue dress
And had my back against you
Yet you still
Managed to have my back.
And in the midst of it all
I wore red nail polish
And it was going to be the day
I forgave you.
Except you went past me,
Left me standing
And still I didn't understand
Until I allowed myself
To believe for a moment
You could take advantage of me.
And I saw for the first time
You'd been violating me.
Yet still I wonder why
I still hope you
Are beautiful to me.

~Maryum Khalid~

Leave a Reply

