"Do you know that your words
And actions have hurt me?
Do you know that your words
And actions have hurt
This relationship?"

"I know my words and actions
Have hurt you.
I know my words and actions
Have hurt this relationship".

We went to the badlands;
Climbed and climbed.
I went up and took my
Arms out
So he could grab onto it.

But the best part was
Reaching the top
And teaching each other
What it meant to be
Connected at that moment.
And learning to forgive each other
At the top of it all.

And then looking down
At all our anger, agony, unresolved
Expectations, misunderstandings,
Loneliness and heartaches
Didn't seem like much at all
Except that these needed
To be
In order
For us to overcome ourselves
And now, hold hands to face
A new beginning together,
In truth.

"Are you willing to keep
At holding our hands?"

"Yes".

"Yes".

~Maryum Khalid~

Leave a Reply

