“Come out tonight”. 
You think I am just polite and kind?

Yes. But no. 

I am forever mine. 

So just like the mermaid 

Does in her song, 

You can go to sleep.
And then in the ordeal of dreams 

I wonder what he was thinking-

Did he rationalize that this 

Force, threat, violation and crime 

Was actually an affinity? 

That though I was the victim, 

We, as strangers, were platonic 

In this existence?

I wonder what he was thinking 

When he was making me 

His pleasure? 
 But he never could see 

That this great, vigour, courage,

Aggressiveness- 

This warrior in me meant something.
Yes, what really matters-

This self responsibility and 

Determination, this self- acceptance,

It is unconditional: 


I am never changing 
Myself even 

If you took pleasure in doing me:

Do me all kinds of schemes and blasphemy;

What ever hopes and dreams

Help you sleep

Tonight. 
~Maryum Khalid~ 

Leave a comment